Some Japanese shampoos I had used so far

Hello again:) Hope you had a great weekend!

So actually, not all of them are Japanese. One is Thai and other is American brand. So maybe let’s start from them. Also I would like to mention that none of them I’ve bought recently. I don’t think you can write a good review on shampoo which you tried only once since the first impression might be wrong. This is my “collection” of shampoos and conditioners I gathered in one year or so. And I never finish shampoo before buying a new one as I can’t resist buying something I find attractive. And as I mentioned before I am more into organic stuff so most of the shampoos are organic or contain natural ingredients.

Let’s begin from Nature’s gate (which I believe is kind of famous brand in US) Biotin shampoo and conditioner for weak and thinning hair. Why did I buy this shampoo? Well, it is hard to find organic shampoo in Japanese drugstore unless you go to some specific stores. So one day I found it and grabbed it immediately after checking the ingredients. The good thing is that it contains Jojoba oil which helps to moisturize your hair, also it has panthenol, soy proteins, vegetable proteins  and most important BIOTIN, as you can tell from the name. Biotin helps to prevent hair loss. But the bad thing is it can’t be absorbed through hair or skin, you have to take it with food or supplements. What else you might want to know if you are a fan of natural products is that it doesn’t contain sulphates, parabens, fragrance. And  finally how did it feel on my hair? First of all, I had to use pretty huge amount of shampoo to make it foam up but it has a pleasant, not so strong smell of mint which, I believe , is perfect for summer to refresh yourself, but too bad it doesn’t last long on your hair. Using it together with conditioner it left my hair quite soft but all in all I’m not so impressed about this shampoo.

The second one is Prann Rebalancing shampoo and conditioner from Thailand which I got as a present and it is 100% organic. “… unique formula contains Rice Bran Oil that helps protect hair from the sun and reduce signs of damage from free radicals. The natural cleansers are mild and gentle, leaving your hair feeling fresh without residue. Natural Safflower Seed Oil helps nourish and recondition hair, leaving it silky soft.”  The best thing is, this is all true! It really leaves your hair silky and smooth, it smells good (specific smell of herbs so I can not assure that you gonna like it) and strong, the smell stays on hair pretty long. And it’s all organic which means no damage.

Other natural shampoo is rinRen. This is Japanese brand you can find in a drugstore and it wasn’t so famous when I bought it but recently I saw commercial on TV.What is natural about it? It’ s non-silicon; paraben, synthetic fragrance, coloring agents free, no animal products. The smell is yuzu (Japanese lemon) and ginger, which was quite promising for me (I love citrus smell!), but I was disappointed since the smell doesn’t remind of neither lemon nor ginger and as for me it doesn’t smell so good. The consistency of  both shampoo and conditioner is watery and because of that I feel I have to use a lot of it. So after all, the only good thing is that it doesn’t damage your hair as most of the shampoos you find in a drugstore.

Nudy Aura shampoo is really famous non-silicon shampoo  in Japan and has so many reviews. You also can find this one in a drugstore. It has so many good ingredients (collagen, keratin, sericin, hyaluronan) but at the same time it contains parabens, sulfates, fragrance ( it smells good though:)) and other “bad” stuff. I like that consistency is quite thick, you just need a drop of shampoo for rinsing your hair. And the most important thing is that it leaves your hair silky, almost like silicon shampoos.

Sea breeze is a shampoo my hubby got. And I decided to try it since he likes it and it has strong smell of mint as well as it has cooling effect on your scalp. But somehow it felt rather like burning my scalp than cooling it. Maybe my skin was too sensitive for it:/

And the last is Shiseido (oh, yeah, you must know it) shampoo and conditioner with tsubaki (camellia) amino acids which is supposed to heal the hair damage. Well, it’s nothing organic or natural but, for sure, it leaves hair super silky. And consistency is very thick, it lathers a lot, but the smell, I don’t like it so much since it just smells like perfume and I prefer more natural scents.

Hope you didn’t get bored of reading my first review:) Please write in the comments below what you liked or didn’t like as well as what Japanese products you would like to see me reviewing in the future.

See you soon ♥

4 thoughts on “Some Japanese shampoos I had used so far

  1. Have you tried Lux Super Damage Repair Shampoo (I think it’s made by Unilever)? It smells like apples and really smooths the shaft of my hair. I’ve bleached and dyed my hair blue and purple and this and the matching conditioner really makes it so my hair feels healthy instead like dry and brittle straw. I get it at a Japanese grocery store but you can also buy it online.

  2. Lux is very popular shampoo in Japan, you can get in every drugstore. I haven’t used it yet, but I know some of my Japanese friends buy it. I love apple smell, maybe should give it a try too. I am more into organic, or at least silicone-free shampoos but I sometimes “cheat”, while using silicone containing shampoos to get that super glossy hair effect. Though it is not good for hair >_< . what about you? have you ever tried something natural or organic?

    • It’s not Japanese but I like Bioken Intensive Revitalizing Shampoo & the corresponding conditioner. It’s made with bee propolis and works really well to repair damaged hair. They also claim that it prevents hair loss but not really sure how I could validate that personally lol

Leave a Reply

